The magic of working

It’s Monday and I’m going to work.

Yippee!!

I get on the train to work and I think – Wow I’ve got some me-time here. I watch my downloads, I listen to music, I read.

It’s my thing, it’s my time!

Yippee!

A break from cleaning up Gem’s highchair, mopping floors after Gem’s food-throwing sessions, being a Stepford wife and stressing about whether there’s dust on my white wooden Venetian blinds.

It’s a break.

It’s also an opportunity to dress up, wear makeup, wear nice shoes and get my hair out of a ponytail every now and again.

It’s a break from leggings and a break from ironing.

I go to work for a break.

Apart from getting a break, I’m enjoying working again.

I’ve been working for well over a decade and it’s not until having a child that I realised that I’m built to work. Built to have a deadline, built to challenge myself and built to engage in intellectual discussion.

I’ll also say that having a child has put work more in perspective.

It’s all not urgent! Nothing will ever feel as urgent as the cry of a newborn saying Feed me NOW or I need to sleep now.

My understanding of urgency has definitely shifted.

My view on importance is also changed since Gem arrived. Nothing at work is as important as she is and never ever will be.

The precious cuddles, the kisses and her toothy grins.

However, it’s Monday, I’m off to work and I’m loving it – a magic moment!!

xxx

This a blog hop from Jaime Oliver of The Oliver’s Madhouse


6 thoughts on “The magic of working

    • Thanks for your comment.

      Nicely put.

      I think it’s just the makeup of certain people to need to go to work as opposed to stay at home. No choice is negative – it’s just different strokes for different folks.

  1. I so so understand this! i loved working for just those reasons! i still miss not working and probably will do until i get back there.

    Thanks for linking up with #MagicMoments x

  2. Hi there! I’m Heather and I was hoping you would be able to answer a question about your blog! Please email me when you get a free moment at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

Leave a Reply

