New Herts Life and more

Project Abode – the commencement of life in Hertfordshire – has officially taken over our lives.

We have finally completed on our house and the renovation project is in full swing.

For those of you who’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll remember this post here about tips on looking for a family home.

Well, we did use tip 9 in the post stated above and did compromise on some bits in the end – for instance I’ve not put an order in for an Aga just yet.

We do however love the place. Therefore, sourcing furniture and thinking through decorating plans is exciting and has given me that additional feel of purpose in the run up to the end of my maternity leave.

Thanks to my indecision, we’ve changed the colour scheme a few times but I’m now happy with where we are and you can see the range of testers in pictures below.

I’ve had to still keep on top of playgroups with Gem who is doing loads of growing up at the moment – attempting to crawl down stairs, waving, clapping, crossing fingers, the works and we’ve progressed in swimming classes.

I will continue to keep you informed of how things are developing on the Herts life front – packing up life in London, decorating etc.

Some other interesting developments since my last proper post:

1) Date to go back to work has been agreed as 12th of August.

I’ll be fully on the Dolly Parton 9-to-5 vibe from then and although it’ll be great to earn money again, I will miss hanging out with Gem immensely.

2) I wrote a formal complaint letter to my local child health visiting team because I felt the service was so bad the last time I saw them with Gem and it was not supporting local mums positively. My letter has been acknowledged so I’ll keep you informed of updates in due course.

3) Date night with ❤Throb to see a play called Race at the Hampstead Theatre. Clarke Peters (Lester Freamon in The Wire) was one of the leads and as ❤Throb and I love the man it was fab to see him on the stage.

I’d recommend it as it really shows the impact of racism flipped on it’s head and does this in a fresh way. It definitely opened my eyes on how the majority could easily be subjects of racism from the minority.

Check out this Sunday Times review

Better get back to bubble wrap and moving boxes.

xxx

Ideas for hallway colours

20130627-225153.jpg

Dining room feature wall ideas

20130627-225239.jpg

Additional inspiration

20130628-162304.jpg

This is a blog hop.

Post Comment Love
2 thoughts on “New Herts Life and more

Leave a Reply

