Box set love

Apparently, 25% of co-habiting couples spend three evenings each week in separate rooms watching different programs.

I’m not a keen Daily Mail reader but this article made me think about my own relationship and telly watching habits.

❤Throb will not sit through an episode of the Oprah Winfrey show – fact! I on the other hand won’t sit through an episode of The Keiser Report on Russia Today and this is also fact. Mr Keiser loudly slagging of financial ideologies of Ben Bernanke (chair of the US federal reserve) and George Osborne just does nothing for me from
an entertainment perspective.

We do like different things when it comes to telly. As such, one way round us sitting in different rooms with me catching up on the Voice while he watching Russia Today is through our love of watching box sets together.

❤Throb and I are crazy about shows that involve violence layered with multidimensional characters so that’s why we are obsessed with The Kadarshians.

I got you there, didn’t I!

On a serious note – we do love the Kadarshians but that’s not what I was on about.

Our love for certain shows has taken us from the crazy streets of Baltimore with The Wire through to the exhilarating shores of Atlantic City watching Boardwalk Empire.

After watching an episode of these types of shows you’ll usually find us dissecting the entire plot.

Even without the mafia and drugs, we are into the 1960s complicated New York lives of Don Draper, Pete Campbell, Peggy Olson of Mad Men.

I’ve heard it said that credible award-winning tv shows of nowadays can’t be watched with you multitasking. They are selfish in the sense that they require your 100% undivided attention with your brain well and truly in gear.

The characters are both heroes and villains and so quite tough to pigeon hole and this to me shows the complex and multifaceted nature of the human condition.

At the moment our ultimate show is Breaking Bad and I believe that this is the kind of show that brings couples together in a way that only other box set lovers will relate to.

Watching Walter White and Jesse Pinkman cooking methamphetamine on Breaking Bad saw us through those early months when Gem was younger and we were just plain exhausted.

To end this post, I thought I’d set out our five favourite box sets of all time, in no particular order:

1) The Sopranos
2) The Wire
3) Breaking Bad
4) Mad Men
5) Boardwalk Empire

xxx

ps. Writing this post has started to give me a brief understanding of why some of my friends call me a telly addict. It really wasn’t obvious until now. Oh well!!

This is a blog hop.

Post Comment Love
9 thoughts on “Box set love

  1. I’ve never got in to this whole box set thing but there is so much drivel on TV that I think we should start investing in a few! Thanks for the recommendations 🙂

  2. Just discovered your blog through PoCoLo. My husband and me do love our US drama’s too. We’re currently hooked on The Good Wife which is fab but need a new one too so are thinking of watching Breaking Bad as hearing fab things about it and now it’s on your list of top 5 as well!

  3. Ross and I are exactly the same as you in our love of box sets. We adore Breaking Bad – definitely one of our favourites and are eagerly awaiting the release of season 5. We also love Game of Thrones, have gone through all of Scrubs, My Name is Earl, tried How I Met your Mother and our biggest love of all is Greys Anatomy! Thank you for linking to PoCoLo xx

    • Wow – a girl after my own heart. I’m a true Greys fan. Still all over that even now up to season 9.

      You can get the first part of Breaking Bad season 5 on Netflix. The rest to follow in August I think.

      Thanks V.

      xx

  4. We love, love, love Breaking Bad too! Its dark humour and poignancy really blend well. I’m currently working through the Dexter back catalogue but love Parks & Recreation for some light relief. We stopped watching live TV when the kids arrived, so box sets and some catch up TV are our way of life now #PoCoLo

Leave a Reply

