Living life like it’s golden

Between dealing with Gem having a cold (that arrived in the form of separation anxiety), going away for the Easter break, sheer exhaustion from cold that Gem passed to me and watching back to back episodes of Breaking Bad Season 4, I’ve not prioritised my blogging.

However, I’m back and hoping to be fully on my linkys – #magic moments and #pocolo over the next week.

Anyway, on to the topic of this post.

Despite not being on my blogging a-game, I have been lucky enough to be able to have spent some quality time with a few girlfriends over the last week. Not only has it been great but it made me realise how much I miss hanging out with my girls.

Shout out to my book club girls who made me laugh so much last Thursday that I had tears rolling down my face.

Seeing one of my girls so happy with her new baby girl made my heart sing and then getting all the gossip from my girl who was visiting from Lagos made me howl with laughter.

Today, however, I hung out with another one of my friends and we talked about so much including the morbid topic of who we would trust our daughters with if anything happened to us and our husbands and we were no longer here to be their parents.

It is a morbid topic – no doubt about that – and we acknowledged this.

However, I did realise that outside of our parents, it is very hard to choose who ❤Throb and I would trust to raise Gem in such horrific circumstances.

Certain issues on how ❤Throb and I would want Gem to be raised came up:
– religious beliefs
– educating her on issues of race
– being kind
– not being homophobic
– knowing her cultural background
– working hard
– continuing to be as happy and alert as she has been since she was born
– trusting her instincts
– fighting for what she believes in
– loving fearlessly; and
– developing an independent and sharp mind.

These were some of the non-trivial issues that came up and as I type I can think of a few other issues of importance that ❤Throb and I would like Gem to be raised knowing.

In addition to this, the financial burden of putting this responsibility on someone else isn’t trivial at all.

Talking about it not only made me think about the issues but brought a serious lump to my throat.

At the end of discussing this, my friend and I decided that we would definitely focus on living for at least 150 more years as not only was it just too massive a topic to get our heads round, it was too miserable a topic to be getting into over a slice of lemon drizzle cake. Living effectively forever would ensure that our kids would always have us there for them.

In reality, we can’t live forever.

Today however, ❤Throb and I can choose to live life fully, loving each other and working towards raising Gem – based on the list above – to be the best she can possibly be.

In other words, treating life as precious as it truly is.

Post Comment Love

xxxx

16 thoughts on “Living life like it’s golden

  1. I think we’ve all had to think about this at one point,I know we have people in mind after my parents but like you and <3throb we plan on living a long and full life #PoCoLo

  2. This is a subject that we buried our heads in the sand over for far too long. When we finally put together a will after years of procrastinating we had to make a choice. It’s the toughest you will probably ever make. Am glad you had some girlie fun this week – so important!

  3. Such a tricky topic. As well as all the important stuff about values you mention, there’s also the need to make sure potential carers have enough money, time, energy etc to care for extra children. Most of our relatives already have more than a handful with their own children….hence, we have been putting off this discussion!

    • I didn’t think about this at all until my friend brought it up.

      Formally, I guess it’s all set out in a will.

      Informally, it’s discussions with husband/partner and key people to be involved in your child’s life.

  4. This is a discussion is one we haven’t had in great detail and we know we should be having it but keep putting it off, do you think a whole lemon drizzle cake is enough for all the planning or will i need two?

  5. This is discussion I’ve started addressing since I thought I had breast cancer in December (thankfully all ok). I’m still negotiating with my family as I don’t want Grace’s father to have sole custody as I know he won’t let her see my family. This is not easy. Oh, and I’m at the end of season 4 of Breaking Bad – you’re gonna love it!! Thanks for linking up to PoCoLo and for your valued support xx

    • There are so many complexities surrounding this topic and the more I think about it, the more I discover.

      I’m glad there are no breast cancer issues so you can continue to be alive and well for Grace.

      We will start on BB 5 tonight as just finished 4. Superb show!!

      Thanks for pocolo and the newbie showcase.

      X

  6. This is such a hard but very important discussion to have. Hubby and I have gone over it and over it and never really reached a concrete decision, I think it’s a little bit of denial and fear at the thought of being faced with it. But you’re right, concentrating on the here and now is so important for everyone especially our children xx

  7. We started talking about this since seeing Life as We Know It. We kind of decided what we’d want to do but felt too embarrassed to talk to the potential guardians in question about it so never actually got any further with it. But now I know how to broach the subject: cake!

Leave a Reply

